Joseph Christoff


Joseph Christoff serves as a Senior Advisor to MSI’s leadership team and practices areas.  As a prior Senior Vice President, he led MSI’s strategy, evaluation and analysis (SEA); leadership and organizational development, and education practice areas.

Joseph has more than 30 years of experience developing strategies and methods for monitoring and evaluating the effectiveness and impact of government programs. As the prior director of MSI’s Institute for Public Accountability, he helped build the evaluation and reporting skills of countries’ accountability institutions, including national audit offices and anti-corruption agencies, offices that can be the potential enablers of greater accountability and transparency in countries’ public financial management practices.

Previously, he was the director of the international affairs and trade team at the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), where he managed 120 analysts, economists, lawyers and statisticians. These teams produced over 200 performance evaluations and audits in more than 100 countries that assessed the effectiveness of $1 trillion in U.S. development and security assistance. The reports detailed 200 recommendations for improving government performance and saved the American taxpayer over $2.1 billion.

Joseph is a Harvard University Senior Executive Fellow and received a master’s degree in public administration from American University in Washington, D.C.


Supporting the COVID-19 Response in Zambia

Scaling Development Outcomes

MSI Recognized for Excellence and Achievement by Tetra Tech

The ++ Project Start-Up

Bringing Virtual Training to MSI’s Newest Client

Strengthening Infrastructure Capacity to Support IDPs

Connecting People and Building Skills during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Developing Countries Can Respond to COVID-19 in Ways that are Swift, at Scale and Successful

Making Sense of COVID-19 Data

Data Due Diligence and COVID-19


Rodeina A. Fattah

Larry Cooley

Michelle Adams-Matson

Diana Alexanderson Alvarez

Betsy Bury

Kelley Cantrell

Carolyn Fonseca

Jeremy Gans

John Haecker

Amanda Janczak

Dan Killian

Mary Liakos

Claire Nowlin

Barbara Pando-Behnke

Tim Reilly

Scroll to Top